The Ontario Securities Commission announced Wednesday the appointment of three new commissioners, bringing the commission to a total of 14 members.

The new members, each appointed by for three-year terms, are Wendell Wigle, appointed on May 28, as well as Paul Bates and Suresh Thakrar, both appointed on June 11.

“I am very impressed with the integrity and qualifications that our new commissioners bring to the OSC,” said David Brown, OSC chair.

The OSC commissioners form the board of directors for the commission, overseeing the management of the financial affairs of the OSC and setting policy under the Ontario Securities Act and the Ontario Commodity Futures Act. As well, commissioners sit as members of independent panels assembled to hear matters and impose sanctions as permitted by the acts.

Bates is the former CEO of Charles Schwab Canada. He serves on boards in both the for-profit and not-for-profit sectors, is a management consultant and is a faculty member at the University of Toronto’s Joseph L. Rotman School of Management.

Suresh Thakrar, is a former vice-president of RBC Financial Group, where he has over the past 30 years held a number of senior positions across various areas of the bank. Thakrar is currently on a sabbatical and engaged in a number of philanthropic activities in Canada and abroad.

Wigle is senior litigation counsel at Hughes, Amys.