Knowledge Bureau seeks applicants for new award

Lindsay Sawyer Fay and Darren Ryan have been selected as the 2016 winners of the Winnipeg-based Knowledge Bureau’s Distinguished Advisor Conference’s (DAC) Young Advisors Award.

Sawyer Fay, a financial advisor with E. Sawyer Financial & Insurance Agencies in Winnipeg, which operates under the Manulife Securities Investment Services Inc. umbrella, and Ryan, an advisor with Ryco Financial Inc. in St. John’s, have each received complimentary registration to the DAC, which is being held in San Diego, Calif., from Nov. 6-9, as well as three complimentary nights at the conference hotel.

The Knowledge Bureau will be celebrating Sawyer Fay’s and Ryan’s achievements at the DAC’s opening reception. Sawyer Fay and Ryan will also participate at the event, offering their perspectives on the future of the investment industry, including: unique approaches to their client base; the obstacles they face; and how industry education, mentorship and collaboration have helped them establish and build their practices.

Sawyer Fay and Ryan were bestowed with the DAC Young Advisors Award for demonstrating outstanding achievements in a variety of areas, including: knowledge and skills; referability; industry collaboration; professional development; community leadership; business leadership; innovation; and business growth and retention.

Sawyer Fay is the owner of her family’s financial planning firm, at which she works as a life insurance advisor, certified financial planner (CFP) and oversees day-to-day operations of the firm. She is also an active volunteer.

Ryan, also a CFP, has built a financial advisory practice for professionals who are self-employed, namely physicians and business owners. His practice focuses on providing risk management, tax planning and investments for clients.

Young advisors interested in applying for the 2017 award should send their application before June 1, 2017. The Knowledge Bureau and the DAC’s title Sponsor, Manulife Financial Corp., will each select a winner by June 15, 2017.

Photo copyright: martinm303/123RF