vintage microphones
BrAt_PiKaChU / iStockphoto

The Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) has appointed three new members to its independent Investor Advisory Panel (IAP), each for two-year terms, the commission said in a release on Thursday.

The IAP advises and comments on proposed rules, policies and investor protection initiatives, while considering the views of a broad range of investors through consultations.

The IAP’s new members are:

  • Ilana Singer, vice-president and corporate secretary of the Canadian Investor Protection Fund, who will become IAP chair;
  • Parham Nasseri, vice-president, product and regulatory strategy, with InvestorCOM; and
  • Deborah Leckman, a former commissioner to the OSC with more than 30 years’ experience in the retail wealth and pension fund industries, and a member of the board of trustees of OPTrust.

Singer previously served as an adjunct instructor for the Investor Protection Seminar at Osgoode Hall Law School as well as COO and deputy director with FAIR Canada. Her term with the IAP began Sept. 1 and she will become chair on Nov. 1.

Nasseri is a past chair of the Canadian Advocacy Council of CFA Societies Canada. His term with the IAP begins Nov. 1.

Leckman serves as an advisor to the Investor Protection Clinic at Osgoode Hall Law School. Her term with the IAP begins on Jan. 1, 2023.

Outgoing IAP members are Serge Kalloghlian, whose term ended earlier this year, and Daniel Brunet and chair Neil Gross, whose terms will end later this year.

“Neil has led the IAP with distinction, and we have benefited tremendously from his expertise, frankness and commitment to investors,” said Grant Vingoe, CEO of the OSC, in the release. “We are excited to continue engaging with Neil in a number of ways following the end of his term on the IAP.”