Robert Jackson Jr. and Hester Peirce were officially sworn in as SEC commissioners on Friday, the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission announced.

Their nominations were confirmed by the U.S. Senate on Dec. 21, 2017.

Both commissioners participated in Friday’s inaugural meeting of the SEC’s new fixed income market structure advisory committee.

Jackson joins the SEC from New York University School of Law, where he was a professor of law. His term at the SEC will expire on June 5, 2019.

Peirce was previously a senior research fellow and director of the Financial Markets Working Group at the Mercatus Center at George Mason University in Fairfax, Va. Her term runs until June 5, 2020.