Catalyst Canada names Victor Dodig as chairman

Women working in Canada’s financial services industry are on the list of Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Award Winners for 2017, which was released Wednesday.

The awards pay tribute to the outstanding women across Canada who have advocated for diversity in the workforce, and who serve as an inspiration for the next generation of leaders.

“Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Awards showcases the leaders that are helping to drive positive change and progress and to remind us of the importance of empowering women in our workforce and in the community,” says Sherri Stevens, president and CEO of PhaseNyne, in a statement.

“We are so proud of the steps taken by women, and the organizations that support them, and are thrilled that we have now surpassed a major milestone, with more than 1,000 women honoured since the awards were launched in 2003.”

Co-presented by KPMG, the awards span the private, public and not-for-profit sectors, with recipients selected by an independent advisory board.

Among the women leaders from the financial services industry receiving Top 100 Awards this year are:

> Jennifer Reynolds, president and CEO, Toronto Financial Services Alliance;

> Carolyn Graham, executive vice president and chief financial officer, Canadian Western Bank;

> Ruth Ann McConkey, president, GLC Asset Management Group Ltd.;

> Brenda Rideout, president and chief executive officer, Tangerine;

> Deborah Rose, president and CEO, B2B Bank, and executive vice president, intermediary banking, and chief information officer, Laurentian Bank of Canada;

> Joanna Rotenberg, group head, BMO Wealth Management

> Kim Shannon, president and co-chief investment officer, Sionna Investment Managers;

> Joyce Ushermesiano, president and co-founder, National Brokers Insurance Services;

> Katherine Cunningham, senior vice president and chief financial officer, Sun Life Financial

> Diane McCurdy, founder and president, McCurdy Financial Planning Inc.

> Karen Adams, president and CEO, Fundserv

> Laurie Clark, president and CEO, The Smarten Up Institute;

> Christine Day, chief technology and information officer, Questrade; and

> Catherine Wood, senior vice president and head of online brokerage, digital advice, insurance products and marketing, Qtrade Financial Group, part of the Desjardins Group.

In addition, Geeta Sankappanavar, co-founder and president, Grafton Asset Management Inc., and Isabelle Marcoux, chairwoman, Transcontinental Inc., the parent company of Investment Executive, are among the 13 women who will be inducted into the Top 100 Hall of Fame.

This year’s winners will be recognized at a gala event in Toronto on Thurs. Nov. 23.

For a full list of winners, please visit