Adult senior diverse multi-ethnic Caucasian Hispanic Middle Eastern CEO executive team business people together in conference meeting room in contemporary modern office bright sunny daylight sunset dusk talking discussing planning organizing strategy well dressed suit and tie teamwork cooperation diversity multi-ethnic problems solutions unity cityscape downtown urban new beginnings breaking new ground dreamlike decisions choices the way forward diversity / FangXiaNuo

Each week, Investment Executive summarizes notable moves across the financial industry.

  • Scotiabank has appointed Pamela Allen as chief executive officer of MD Financial Management Inc. (MD), effective Nov. 1. With over 30 years of experience in the financial services industry, Allen joined MD 16 years ago and most recently served as vice-president, client value and performance. She assumes the CEO role following the retirement of Daniel Labonté. Allen is the first woman at the head of MD. 
  • Alex Perel is the new managing director, head of ETF services at Scotiabank Global Banking and Markets. Perel had previously served as the bank’s director, head of ETF services since 2017. 
  • John Booth has joined Raymond James Ltd. as managing director, mining. Booth brings with him more than 25 years of investment banking experience, including stints at TD Securities, Goldman Sachs and, most recently, as a partner at Paradigm Capital in Toronto. He will be based in Toronto and will focus on mid-market mining companies, dealing specifically with their merger and acquisition advisory and financing needs.
  • The federal Advisory Committee on the Charitable Sector (ACCS) has updated its membership committee. Sheherazade Hirji, former resident representative, Aga Khan Development Network, Afghanistan, will begin a two-year term as ACCS sector co-chair, effective Nov. 1. Bruce MacDonald, president and CEO, Imagine Canada, and Hilary Pearson, former president, Philanthropic Foundations Canada, began one-year terms as transitional co-chair and past co-chair, respectively, on Sept. 1. Four incoming members also begin two-year terms with the committee on Nov. 1, replacing the departing committee members whose terms ended on Aug. 31.

If you know of other people moves in the financial industry and/or would like us to consider your announcement, email Katie Keir at