The National Exempt Market Association (NEMA) has announced the formation of a new committee that will represent Alberta’s exempt market industry.

The Alberta Industry Exempt Market Committee’s (AEMIC) purpose is to ensure the industry has a voice and an efficient channel to communicate concerns and opportunities to regulators, NEMA said on Thursday.

Dean Koeller, CFO and COO at Calvert Home Mortgage Investment Corporation, has been appointed chairman of the committee.

The Alberta Securities Comission (ASC) has agreed to meet regularly with AEMIC to discuss concerns, issues and opportunities. Their first meeting is set to take place on June 12.

The committee is made up of nine members:

Chairman: Dean Koeller, Calvert Home Mortgage
Brian Menges, Caplink
Craig Skauge, Exempt Experts
Craig Bentham, Mission Law
Dave McKitrick, Altawest Mortgage Capital Corp.
Jason Brown, WealthTerra Capital Management
Nick Fournier, Raintree Financial Solutions
Rick Unrau, Pinnacle Wealth Brokers
Supratim (Tim) Das, Omnus Investments

New member of the board

NEMA also announced on Thursday the appointment of Nick Fournier to its board of directors.

Fournier is president and a founder of one of Canada’s largest exempt market dealers, Raintree Financial Solutions. NEMA said his leadership and involvement will be an asset to the association’s membership.

Educational website to launch

In addition, NEMA announced that it plans to launch a new educational website later this month. The website,, will feature educational information on the exempt market for the general public, and will act as a resource for advisors.

The initiative was born out of NEMA’s education committee.