The Investment Industry Association of Canada (IIAC) announced the 2014 inductees to the IIAC Investment Industry Hall of Fame on Thursday.

The inductees include:

  • Thomas Caldwell, founder and chairman, Caldwell Securities
  • Thomas Kierans, former president, McLeod Young Weir
  • Michael Tims, former CEO, Peters and Co.
  • The Honourable Michael Wilson, former vice chairman, RBC Dominion Securities, chairman at UBS Canada, Federal Finance Minister and Ambassador of Canada to the United States, and chancellor, University of Toronto

Posthumous inductees include:

  • Charles Gundy (1905 – 1978), former president and chairman, Wood Gundy
  • Deane Nesbitt (1910 – 1978), former president and CEO, Nesbitt Thomson
  • Lieutenant Colonel Jean Ostiguy (1922 – 2012), co-founder, Morgan, Ostiguy & Hudon

“It’s a gratifying experience to be recognized by your peers,” says Caldwell. “I am very appreciative and humbled by the announcement.”

Caldwell says he is honored to be inducted to the IIAC Investment Industry Hall of Fame with several investment “kingpins”.

“It is a real honor to be recognized along side Charlie Gundy,” he says. “He was an icon and piloted a firm through some cataclysmic eras. Charles Gundy was just a name you knew and for someone like me just starting out in the industry during the 1960s, he was like the blonde bombshell in grade 8. You admired her from afar.”

To be considered for the Hall of Fame, nominees must have demonstrated investment industry leadership skills, must have made an outstanding contribution to building and shaping Canada’s investment industry, and must have demonstrated community leadership, ethics and social responsibility.

“The IIAC Investment Industry Hall of Fame provides a platform to pay tribute to the talent and integrity of professionals in the Canadian securities industry,” said Ian Russell, IIAC president and CEO. “These individuals have contributed significantly not only to the growth and prosperity of our industry, but also the financial security of many Canadians. It is fitting they join the inaugural class of 2013 who set such a high standard of excellence, innovation and social responsibility.”

This year’s selection process began in February with a national call for nominations. During the three-month submission period, the names of distinguished industry professionals from across the country were put forward for consideration. Members of the selection committee then had four weeks to vet the nominees and determine who would be inducted at the 2014 ceremony.

The selection committee is comprised of a group of distinguished Canadians who work, or have worked, in business, politics, the law, academia, or the investment industry. Members include:

  • The Honourable Gary Filmon, selection committee chairman, board chairman at Exchange Income Corporation and former Premier of Manitoba, based in Winnipeg, MB
  • Chris Collingwood, chairman and CEO, Baine Johnston Corporation, based in St. John’s, NL
  • Colin Dodds, president, Saint Mary’s University, based in Halifax, NS
  • Margaret Franklin, president, Marret Private Wealth and former global chairwoman at the CFA Institute, based in Toronto, ON
  • Jean Martel, partner at Lavery, de Billy LLP, based in Montreal, QC
  • Nancy McKinstry, director at HSBC Bank Canada, based in Vancouver, BC
  • Lois Mitchell, senior partner at Rainmaker Global Business Development, based in Calgary, AB

The 2014 Hall of Fame Inductees will be recognized at a dinner ceremony taking place on Oct. 30, 2014. Inductees will be enshrined at an installation at the TSX.