CFA Institute announces award recipients

By Megan Harman |

The CFA Institute has presented its Award for Professional Excellence to Keith Ambachtsheer, founder and president of KPA Advisory Services, in recognition of his influential investment industry research.

The award is presented periodically to a member of the investment profession whose achievements and leadership have reflected honour upon the industry.

“Keith’s contributions to our industry have greatly advanced how investment professionals think about, and interact with pensions funds globally,” said John Rogers, president and CEO of CFA Institute. “His research, writings, and educational programs have also indirectly benefited the millions of workers whose retirement funds are invested by a pension fund. In today’s post-crisis environment, we greatly value his leadership that has protected and informed investors large and small.”

Ambachtsheer, an adjunct professor of finance at the University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management and director of the school’s International Centre for Pension Management, is a respected strategic analyst on pensions and investment topics.

His articles have appeared in the Financial Analysts Journal, the Journal of Portfolio Management, and other professional journals, and he has authored three books. He is currently the publisher and editor of the Rotman International Journal of Pension Management, which launched in 2008.

Ambachtsheer also continues to lecture on pension economics and investments topics at universities and other learned forums around the world.

Previous recipients of the Award for Professional Excellence include David Swensen, Martin Leibowitz, Warren Buffett and Sir John Marks Templeton, CFA.

The CFA Institute also announced several other award recipients on Tuesday.

John Stannard, co-chairman of the global consulting and advisory services team at Russell Investments in Ilford, U.K. has received the Daniel J. Forrestal III Leadership Award for Professional Ethics and Standards of Investment Practice.

Stannard is the first chair of the Investment Performance Committee, past chair of the CFA Institute Board of Governors and past president of the CFA Society of the U.K.

The Alfred C. “Pete” Morley Distinguished Service Award was granted to Philippe Sarasin, a former partner at Switzerland-based wealth management firm Lombard Odier & Cie. Sarasin is past chair of the CFA Institute Board of Governors. He played a significant role in CFA Institute’s expansion into Asia Pacific and Europe.

The Thomas L. Hansberger Award for Leadership in the Global Investment Profession was granted to Alan Brown, group chief investment officer at Britain-based asset management firm Schroders and non-executive director of Pool Re Insurance Company. Brown is past chair of the CFA Institute Standards and Financial Market Integrity division’s Advisory Council and a vocal champion for ethical behavior.

Jean Brunel, managing principle of Florida-based Brunel Associates, received the C. Stewart Sheppard Award. Brunel is an active speaker for CFA Institute and its member societies, and is editor of the Journal of Wealth Management.

The Special Service Award was granted to Denise Farkas, chief investment officer for Sigma Investment Counselors in Ohio. Farkas is past governor of the CFA Institute Board of Governors and past chair of the CFA Institute Capital Markets Policy Committee.