The IIAC also inducted six people who have made significant contributions to the capital markets industry at a gala event on Thursday

By Tessie Sanci |

The Investment Industry Association of Canada (IIAC) has named Lori Pinkowski of Vancouver, a senior portfolio manager and senior vice president with Toronto-based Raymond James Ltd., as the recipient of its Top Under 40 Award at a reception in Toronto on Thursday.

An independent committee of judges chose the advisor in recognition of the success she has had in running her practice, the Pinkowski-Allen Financial Group.

"I'm truly honoured and excited to win the Top Under 40 Award. It's been a goal of mine to reach such an achievement. I often say, if you put clients first, success will follow," she said after receiving her award.

Pinkowski was also recognized for active community presence both as a commentator in the media on investing matters and through her charitable work, which includes being a fundraiser for the Prostate Cancer Foundation B.C.

She was one of 33 nominees for the award, which is sponsored by Toronto-based Smarten Up Institute and Investment Executive. The candidates were chosen based on success achieved in their career, commitment to the financial services sector and dedication to community service.

The honouring of the IIAC Top Under 40 recipient is one half of a full-day event that also recognizes industry veterans who have made significant contributions to the capital markets industry. The IIAC inducted the following six people to its hall of fame at a gala in Toronto, also on Thursday:

 > J. Brian Aune, who was the former chairman and CEO of Montreal-based Nesbitt Thomson Inc. prior to its acquisition by Toronto-based Bank of Montreal (BMO) in 1987.

> Jim W. Davidson, who is the co-founder and executive chairman of Calgary-based FirstEnergy Capital Corp.

> Doug Steiner, who is the CEO of Toronto-based Evree Corp. and former chairman and CEO of E*TRADE Canada, which was bought by Toronto-based Bank of Nova Scotia in 2008.

> Latham C. Burns, who was inducted posthumously, was the former president and CEO of Toronto-based Burns Fry Ltd., which BMO acquired in 1994.

> J. Ross LeMesurier, who was inducted posthumously, was the former vice chairman and head of corporate finance for Toronto-based Wood Gundy Inc., which was acquired by Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, also of Toronto, in 1988.

> Austin G.E. Taylor, who was inducted posthumously, was the former chairman and CEO of McLeod, Young, Weir Ltd., which was bought by Scotiabank in 1987.

"This year's Inductees left an indelible mark on the investment industry and capital markets in Canada," says Ian Russell, president and CEO of the IIAC, in a statement. "Their induction is a testament not only to their remarkable business successes, but to their integrity, leadership and contribution to their communities."

Photo copyright: hyperspeed/123RF